Italians across the Alps

Period-instrument ensemble Istante present a colourful programme of chamber works and suites by Italian composers who migrated northwards, towards Austria, France and England, bringing with them the musical taste and instrumental techniques of their homeland. Handel features as a central figure who absorbed the Italian style during his youth and championed it abroad to great acclaim.


J.B. Lully Suite form “Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme”

G.B. Platti Solo in C minor for oboe and continuo

G.F. Handel Trio sonata Op.2 n.1 HWV 386

G.A. Pandolfi Mealli Sonata for violin and continuo Op.3 n.2, “la Cesta”

N. Mateis Suite from “Aires for the violin”